A first

Today is a big day for CAIS.

At this moment, there are 23 people, from six provinces, in three schools in three different provinces, participating on accreditation reviews.  Think about that for a moment.

I’ve been working at the national level for eight years, and it excites me to know that this has never been done before.  In fact, we are going to set a second record this year, by completing 18 reviews in one year!  (Just by way of context, the most we have done in the past is 11).

But it gets better.  As these visits are happening, I am sitting at my desk in St Catharines.  I will go home to my kids tonight and might even cook dinner (yes Kevin, you read that correctly….but I said ‘might’).   Call me selfish, but this is a really big deal for someone who is away more than home during this busy season.

If that is not exciting enough, it gets even better.  One of our strategic priorities is that our organizational model is to be “financially responsible, nimble and adaptive to an ever-changing world.”  We want our organizational model to be efficient while ensuring that our “leadership is strong.”

Today, we have three Accreditation Coordinators – Elaine Danson, David Hadden, and Guy McLean – leading the three reviews in Winnipeg, Belleville and Halifax.  This strategic use of retired Heads in this kind of leadership role is incredibly powerful.  The schools will no doubt benefit from this additional expertise.  The three of them are no strangers to CAIS; they probably have – combined – about 100 years in CAIS schools.  (I said combined.)  How is that for a statistic?!!

Makes me feel really proud of our national organization. I might even make a celebratory dinner tonight and say a little toast….

Leave a Reply

